Being lost at sea

--

This is a post about nearly dying and why stopping is so important.

A couple of years ago, I was swimming by myself in the sea off Sidmouth. I suffered SIPE (Swimming Induced Pulmonary Edema) when 20–30 metres offshore in deep water. What that means is my throat constricted and my ability to breathe collapsed. This was how I became lost at sea.

The main content for this post is this 6 minute video I recorded in Sidmouth a couple of weeks ago.

In terms of Wayfinding theory, I find it interesting the way in which my perception was centered to myself and reduced to perceiving Boundaries.

In terms of Lostness theory, the life-saving importance of Stopping. How much floating on my back saved me.

In terms of my life, I’m glad not to have died.

--

--

Alastair Somerville

Sensory Design Consultant, usability researcher and workshop facilitator. www.linkedin.com/in/alastair-somerville-b48b368 Twitter @acuity_design & @visceralUX